International Journal of Yoga, Physiotherapy and Physical Education

ISSN: 2456-5067

Vol. 4, Issue 6 (2019)

Balancing Trigunas with yogic practices

Author(s): Meena Jain
Abstract: According to Ayurveda, the human body (the physical entity) is composed of three fundamental categories called Doshas, Dhatus and Malas. The Doshas are three in number, the Dhatus are seven and the Malas are three. The three doshas (Tridoshas) are Vata, Pitta and Kapha. Their psychological correlation has important role in functioning and behavioural patterns of humans in the Trigunas-Sattva, Raja and Tama. The three gunas promote a different kind of temperaments based on the dominance of one or the other guna. The awareness and conscious manipulation of the three gunas is a powerful way to reduce stress, increase inner peace and lead towards enlightenment. Trigunas in itself is not a physical quantity but its presence can be seen by three means The action, we perform The interaction behind the action And the reaction. We can work on balancing the Trigunas with careful and minute observations of these Trigunas, lies within us. Transform Tamas into Rajas and when Rajas is attainted, balance it to bring focus on the Sattvaguna. Sattvikguna brings us closer to the universal truth of oneness.
Pages: 38-41  |  399 Views  269 Downloads
library subscription